MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL held at the Guildhall, Portsmouth on Tuesday 18 May 2021 at 10.00 am.

Council Members Present

The Right Worshipful The Lord Mayor Councillor Rob Wood (in the Chair)

Councillors

Dave Ashmore Frank Jonas BEM Matthew Atkins Leo Madden Chris Attwell George Madgwick Kimberly Barrett Hugh Mason Simon Bosher Lee Mason Ryan Brent Kirsty Mellor Stuart Brown **Robert New** Tom Coles **Terry Norton** Scott Payter-Harris Cal Corkery Ben Dowling **Darren Sanders** Jason Fazackarley Jeanette Smith George Fielding John Smith Charlotte Gerada Judith Smyth Lynne Stagg Lewis Gosling Luke Stubbs Graham Heaney Hannah Hockaday Benedict Swann Ian Holder Linda Symes

Jo Hooper Claire Udv Suzy Horton

Gerald Vernon-Jackson CBE

Daniel Wemyss

The Lord Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting. The format of the meeting had been adapted to comply with Covid safety guidance.

The group leaders introduced the new members: Charlotte Gerada, John Smith, Stuart Brown, Daniel Wemyss, Kimberly Barrett, George Madgwick, lan Holder, Kirsty Mellor and Lewis Gosling. In addition Ryan Brent who had re-elected after a break in office.

25. Vote of Thanks to Retiring Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress

It was

Lee Hunt

Proposed by Councillor Gerald Vernon-Jackson Seconded by Councillor Matthew Atkins

That a vote of thanks be given to the retiring Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress.

It was RESOLVED unanimously that the council places on record its sincere thanks to Councillor Rob Wood and Mrs Debra Wood for their outstanding service to the city as Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress during their year of office.

That the Council expresses its great appreciation of the fine qualities which Councillor Rob Wood has brought to the conduct of the business of this Council, his devotion to duty and the distinction and goodwill with which he carried out the many and various duties of the office of Lord Mayor.

That the Council also places on record its gratitude to Mrs Debra Wood for her untiring support and help which she has given as Lady Mayoress to the Lord Mayor.

That this resolution be engrossed and be presented to Councillor Rob Wood and Mrs Debra Wood at this ceremony.

The retiring Lord Mayor was presented with the Council's gift of an engrossed scroll which signifies the Council's appreciation of his time in office.

26. Election of the Lord Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year

Councillor Simon Bosher nominated Councillor Frank Jonas for election to the Office of Lord Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year. The nomination was seconded by Councillor Scott Payter-Harris.

There being no other nominations, the Lord Mayor put the proposal which was CARRIED unanimously and he declared Councillor Frank Jonas duly elected Lord Mayor.

Councillor Jonas donned the Lord Mayor's hat.

27. New Lord Mayor takes the Chair

Councillor Frank Jonas took the chair and thereupon made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office witnessed by the City Solicitor.

28. The Lord Mayor returns thanks to the Council

The Lord Mayor thanked members of the Council for his election and spoke about his charitable appeal, the Portsmouth Hive.

29. Investiture of the New Lady Mayoress

Mrs Joyce Maddox, the new Lady Mayoress, signed a document of office witnessed by the City Solicitor.

30. Appointment of the Deputy Lord Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year

Councillor Gerald Vernon-Jackson nominated Councillor Rob Wood as the Deputy Lord Mayor for the ensuing municipal year. This nomination was seconded by Councillor Matthew Atkins.

There being no other nominations, the Lord Mayor put the proposal, which was CARRIED unanimously and he declared Councillor Rob Wood duly elected as the Deputy Lord Mayor and he made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office. This was witnessed by the City Solicitor. The Chief Executive announced that Councillor Rob Wood would be supported by his Deputy Lady Mayoress, Mrs Debra Wood. The Deputy Lady Mayoress then made and subscribed a document undertaking to support the Deputy Lord Mayor in carrying out his official duties which was witnessed by the City Solicitor.

31. Appointment of Chaplains to the City Council

The Dean of Portsmouth, the Very Reverend Anthony Cane, and Reverend Tracey Ansell were appointed as Chaplains to the City Council.

32. Announcement and presentation of Civic Awards and Youth Civic Award

The Lord Mayor announced that Civic Award recipients this year were: Asghar Shah, Fiona Loew, St. Margaret's Community Church Foodbank, Jackie Peters, Jeanette Warren, the Mortuary Team at Queen Alexandra Hospital, the Duke of Buckingham pub, Tina Moth, Pompey in the Community.

The Youth Civic Award was awarded to Jordan O'Sullivan.

This year the awards focussed on those who have significantly contributed to the city during the Coronavirus pandemic.

Lord Mayor

The meeting adjourned at 11 am, to be reconvened at 11.20 am.